How to Access
Access to databases are password protected. WJU students and faculty should scroll to the appropriate database and click on the hyperlink. A login page will appear requesting a username & password. WJU students & faculty need to use the following:
Username: First name space Last name
Example: Joanne Smith
Password: wj (lowercase) + 7 digit ID number on front of your Cardinal Card.
Example: wj1234567
Contact the library if you have problems.
AMA Manual of Style
Or, a print copy is on reserve in the library at the Circulation Desk - Call Number R119 .A533 2007
Electronic Resources
R2 Digital Library (ebooks) - collection of Medical and Allied Health Reference Books. Note: when on-campus create a username and password that can be used anywhere. Or, via the library's online catalog.
SportDiscus Full Text - Source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 440 journals with coverage dating back to 1985.
Cochrane Library Collection - "systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy; internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care."
CINAHL Plus with Full Text - comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health contains indexing for more than 4,900 journals and full text for more 760 journals.
Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition - Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Medline - indexing to over 4,800 medical journals containing authoritative information in the disciplines of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.
Alt HealthWatch - "focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness."
Health Source: Consumer Edition - "access to over 80 full text consumer health magazines; nearly 130 full text health reference books."
Consumer Health Complete - full text resource for consumer-oriented health content to support patients' information needs.
PsycARTICLES - access over 164,000 full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles from more than 80 journals in the discipline of psychology.
PsycINFO - "the APA's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations; largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health; over 3.3 million citations from as far back as the early 1800s."
Annual Reviews - comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic – "provides access to more than 100 full-text journals covering such disciplines as clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinarian medicine, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system."
Web Resources
Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Outlook Handbook - Athletic Trainers
National Athletic Trainers' Association
BOC Board of Certification - sets standards for the practice of athletic training.
West Virginia Athletic Trainers' Association
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention – "federal agency for protecting the health and safety of people; providing credible information to enhance health decisions, and promoting health through strong partnerships; national focus for developing and applying disease prevention and control, environmental health, and health promotion and education activities designed to improve the health of the people of the United States."
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body
Medline Plus – "extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions."
NLM Medical Subject Headings – "online vocabulary look-up aid available for use with MeSH® (Medical Subject Headings)."
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database - "Developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomised controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practce guidelines in physiotherapy."
Loading...
