American Museum of Natural History Research Library - "disseminate the results of laboratory investigations and fieldwork conducted by museum scientists and their colleagues in the areas of zoological systematics, paleontology, geology, evolution, and anthropology; includes full-text PDFs of current and back issues of AMNH scientific series."
Biodiversity Heritage Library - "consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections."
BIOSCI/bionet Electronic Newsgroup Network for Biology - "set of electronic communication forums - the bionet USENET newsgroups and parallel e-mail lists - used by biological scientists worldwide."
CDC DPDx Parasite Image Library - identification of parasites of public health concern.
DOEgenomes.org - "genome programs of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science."
Environmental Health and Toxicology - from the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health.
Florida Center for Environmental Studies - "facilitator and co-ordinator of research and training related to the environment and as a locus for environmental information."
HHMI BioInteractive - videos, virtual labs, lectures and activities covering topics including biodiversity, neuroscience, stem cells, and more.
iBiology - "mission is to convey, in the form of open-access free videos, the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made."
Integrated Taxonomic Information System - "authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world."
Institute for Water Resources - form the U.S. Army Core of Engineers.
Linus Pauling and the Race for DNA - "Utilizing over 800 scanned documents, photographs, audio clips and video excerpts, this website narrates the breathless details of the pursuit of the discovery of the double helix structure of DNA."
Linus Pauling Research Notebooks - "include forty-six research notebooks spanning the years of 1922 to 1994 and covering any number of the scientific fields in which Dr. Pauling involved himself."
MicrobeLibrary - "peer-reviewed, digital media center for undergraduate microbiology."
The National Academies - "produces groundbreaking reports that have helped shape sound policies, inform public opinion, and advance the pursuit of science, engineering, and medicine."
National Council for Science and the Environment - "not-for-profit organization dedicated to improving the scientific basis for environmental decisionmaking."
NatureServe - "information about rare and endangered species and threatened ecosytemes."
PLANTS Database - "provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories."
Research Link 2000 - "project that has brought together biology faculty from colleges and universities to select, develop and disseminate a group of field-tested, research-based systems and instructional materials for introductory biology courses."
Science.gov - "gateway to government science information and research results."
Science Daily - "site covers discoveries in all fields of the physical, biological, earth and applied sciences."
The Tree of Life - "provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history."
Tropicos - "All of the nomenclatural, bibliographic, and specimen data accumulated in MBG’s electronic databases during the past 25 years are publicly available here. This system has over 1.2 million scientific names and 4.0 million specimen records."