American Presidency Project - "collaboration between John T. Woolley and Gerhard Peters at th University of California, Santa Barbara"; archives contain over 100,000 documents for the study of the American Presidency.
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates 1774-1873 - published congressional records of the United States of America from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress, 1774-1875.
Compilation of Presidential Documents – "consists of the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents and the Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents which are the official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary."
Congress.gov - "official source for federal legislative information
FEDSTATS – "The gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies."
Federal Election Commission - searchable campaign donation disclosure database going back to 1999.
GPO Access: Catalog of Congressional Bills – "GPO Access contains all published versions of bills from the 103rd (1993-1994) Congress forward."
Guide to Law Online – Library of Congress – "annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online."
HLAS Online - Library of Congress - Handbook of Latin American Studies.
John F. Kennedy - online presidential archive of primary-source documents from the Kennedy administration.
Journal of the House of Representatives of the United States of America - Record of the legislative proceedings from 1991 through 1999.
Landmark Cases of the Supreme Court - "developed to provide teachers with a full range of resources and activities to support the teaching of landmark Supreme Court cases."
Legal Information Institute - "Open access to law since 1992."
Maps of the United States - maps from the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection at the University of Texas at Austin.
National Archives and Records Administration - features online exhibits and documents.
National Conference of State Legislatures - information on how all 50 state legislatures function.
The National Security Archive - "investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents, leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government."
PIPA (Program on International Policy Attitudes- "studies public opinion on international issues."
POTUS - information on all United States Presidents compiled by the Internet Public Library.
Public Agenda - "nonpartisan opinion research and civic engagement organization helping Americans explore and understand critical issues."
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research – "the leading educational facility in the field of public opinion."
Statistical Abstract of the United States – "Collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States."
Supreme Court Historical Society - "dedicated to the collection and preservation of the history of the Supreme Court of the United States."
Supreme Court of the United States - History of the court, docket, history of cases and rulings.
UNdata - "search and download a variety of statistical resources of teh UN system."
U.S. Census Bureau - government site for Census information and publications.
U.S. Dept. of Labor – Bureau of Labor Statistics - Current information and statistics on unemployment, productivity, pay, benefits and other related topics.
U.S. House of Representatives - Represenative information, current proceedings, voter information, and archives.
U.S. Senate - Senator information, committee actions, and history of legislation records.
United States Government Manual – "Official handbook of the Federal Government.
USA.gov - "U.S. government information and services on the web."