How to Access
Access to databases are password protected. WJU students and faculty should scroll to the appropriate database and click on the hyperlink. A login page will appear requesting a username & password. WJU students & faculty need to use the following:
Username: First name space Last name
Example: Joanne Smith
Password: wj (lowercase) + 7 digit ID number on front of your Cardinal Card.
Example: wj1234567
Contact the library if you have problems.
Theology & Religious Studies - Electronic Resources
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials – "combines premier indexing with full text access to ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals."
JSTOR - multidisciplinary resource providing access to full text journal articles in the areas of Arts & Sciences, Business, Botany, Ecology, Health & General Science, Language & Literature.
Religious & Theological Abstracts - Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. A variety of periodical literature is covered including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions.
Project Muse - indexing and abstracting for over 464 journals with access to the full text journals within the Basic College Collection.
Readers' Guide Full Text - contains indexing and abstracting of popular general-interest periodicals, plus the full text of selected periodicals.
Web Resources
Voice of the Shuttle – University of California at Santa Barbara – "Its mission has been to provide a structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources that at once respects the established humanities disciplines in their professional organization and points toward the transformation of those disciplines as they interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media. VoS emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources, and defines its audience as people who have something to learn from a higher-education, professional approach to the humanities."
Virtual Religion Index – Rutgers University - "This Virtual Religion Index is a tool for students... It analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research. Hyperlinks are provided not only to homepages but to major directories & documents within."
American Religion Data Archive - "The American Religion Data Archive (ARDA) is a project funded by the Lilly Endowment, Inc. and acts to preserve quantitative data on American religion, to improve access to this data, to increase the use of the data, and to allow comparisons across data files. The ARDA collection includes data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, and religious groups (individuals, congregations and denominations)."
Encyclopedia of Religion and Society – Hartford Institute for Religion Research - "The Encyclopedia of Religion and Society marks a unique venture in that it attempts to bring together in a single-volume compendium a state-of-the-art summary of the insights gained by the principal social sciences of religion: anthropology, psychology, and sociology. To do so is to take, admittedly, a "one-sided" approach to the religion-and-society nexus. One could perhaps consider an alternative posture, more ethical in nature—namely, one that considers what religions think about society. This would really be an encyclopedia of religious social ethics, and it is not within the scope of this project."
University of Virginia - Online versions of the King James Version of the Bible, Book of Mormon, the Koran, and Irving Hexham's Concise Dictionary of Religion.
Center on Religion and Demcracy - University of Virginia - Collection of electronic books focusing on the role of relgion in shaping society. Texts include coverage in the areas of social theory, historical works, religious works, and legal documents.
Religion and Law Research Database – Brigham Young University - "Comprised of academic and government institutions dedicated to the study of law and religion, relationships of state and religion, and freedom of religion or belief."
Religion and Ethics – British Broadcasting Corporation - Brief history, believes, and types of rites for various religions.
Wabash Center Guide to Internet Resources for Teaching and Learning in Theology and Religion – "A selective, annotated guide to a wide variety of electronic resources of interest to those who are involved in the study and practice of religion: syllabi, electronic texts, electronic journals, websites, bibliographies, listserv discussion groups, liturgies, reference resources, software, etc."
The Catholic Encyclopedia - Electronic version of the standard 15 volume reference work published during 1907-1913.
Augustine - Primary texts in Latin and English along with secondary material.
Ecole Initiative: Early Church On-Line Encyclopedia – "The Early Church On-Line Encyclopedia (Ecole) Initiative is a cooperative effort on the part of scholars across the internet to establish a hypertext encyclopedia of early Church history (to the Reformation) on the World-Wide Web."
Guide to Early Church Documents – "Contains pointers to Internet-accessible files relating to the early church, including canonical documents, creeds, the writings of the Apostolic Fathers and other historical texts relevant to church history"
Ratio Studiorum - The English translation by Allan P. Farrell, S.J., along with an introductory essay, "The Historical Significance of the Ratio" by John W. O·Malley, S.J. and a bibliopgraphy by John Russell.
Thomas Aquinas: Summa Theologica - Translation by the Fathers of the English Dominican Province, 1947.
Dead Sea Scrolls – Library of Congress - "The exhibition Scrolls From the Dead Sea: The Ancient Library of Qumran and Modern Scholarship brings before the American people a selection from the scrolls which have been the subject of intense public interest. Over the years questions have be en raised about the scrolls' authenticity, about the people who hid them away, about the period in which they lived, about the secrets the scrolls reveal, and about the intentions of the scrolls' custodians in restricting access. The Library's exhibition describes the historical context of the scrolls and the Qumran community from whence they may have originated; it also relates the story of their discovery 2,000 years later. In addition, the exhibition encourages a better understanding of the challenge s and complexities connected with scroll research."
Rome Reborn: The Vatican Library and Renaissance Culture – Library of Congress –
"Presents some 200 of the Vatican Library's most precious manuscripts,
books, and maps--many of which played a key role in the humanist
recovery of the classical heritage of Greece and Rome. The exhibition
presents the untold story of the Vatican Library as the intellectual
driving force behind the emergence of Rome as a political and scholarly
superpower during the Renaissance."
United States Conference of Catholic Bishops – "Is an assembly of the hierarchy of the United States and the U.S. Virgin Islands who jointly exercise certain pastoral functions on behalf of the Christian faithful of the United States. The purpose of the Conference is to promote the greater good which the Church offers humankind, especially through forms and programs of the apostolate fittingly adapted to the circumstances of time and place."
The Vatican Web Site - Contains Vatican archives and daily news and updates from the Vatican.
Index Thomisticus - Online Index of the works of St. Thomas Aquinas, English Web Version
BibleGateway.com - "The Bible Gateway is a tool for reading and researching scripture online - all in the language or translation of your choice. It provides advanced searching capabilities, which allow readers to find and compare particular passages in scripture based on keywords, phrases, or scripture reference.
Center for Christian-Jewish Learning - "Dedicated to the growth of new and mutally enriching relationships between Christians and Jews. This website offers educational and dialogical aids, theological articles, official documents, and program information."
Christian Classics Ethereal Library - A digital library of classic Christian books.
Islam and Islamic Studies Resources - "For studying Islam and the diverse perspectives of Muslims."
Religion-Online - "Full texts by recognized religious scholars. More than 5,700 articles and chapters. Topics include Old and New Testament, Theology, Ethics, History and Sociology of Religion, Communication and Cultural Studies, Pastoral Care, Counseling, Homiletics, Worship, Missions and Religious Education."
Loading...
