Government Agencies and National Organizations
American Federation of Teachers– "an affiliate of the AFL-CIO, was founded in 1916 and today represents 1.5 million members."
Children’s Defense Fund – "a non-profit child advocacy organization that has worked relentlessly for 40 years to ensure a level playing field for all children."
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) – "online digital library of education research and information."
Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics – "collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families."
NASBE Directory: State Boards of Education – links to all 50 state boards of education.
National Center for Educational Statistics – "the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."
National Education Association - "the nation's largest professional employee organization...committed to advancing the cause of public education."
U.S. Census Bureau
U.S. Department of Education – includes links to lesson plans, standards and assessment information, No Child Left Behind, policy in education, as well as issues in professional development.
West Virginia Department of Education – includes information regarding state CSO’s, 21st Century Learning Skills, professional development, and K-12 job bank.
Learning Disabilities and Special Education
Council for Exceptional Children – “largest international professional organization dedicated to improving the educational success of individuals with disabilities and/or gifts and talents.”
Council for Learning Disabilities –“international organization concerned about issues related to students with learning disabilities.”
Learning Disabilities Online – “the world's leading web site on learning disabilities and ADHD, serving more than 200,000 parents, teachers, and other professionals each month.”
National Center for Learning Disabilities – “works to ensure that the nation's 15 million children, adolescents and adults with learning disabilities have every opportunity to succeed in school, work and life.”
Art and Music
National Art Education Association – links to lesson plans, research, and professional development in art education.
National Arts and Education Network – "a Web site for teaching and learning in the arts." Access to free lesson plans, National Standards for Arts Education, and "tips, guides, and articles to support teaching in and with the arts."
National Gallery of Art Classroom – “where teachers and students can connect art and curriculum.” Access to NGA Learning Resources
American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages – “national organization dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction.”
UCLA Language Materials Project - "teaching resources for less commonly taught languages." K-12 Gateway to lesson plans, tools, and resources.
CARLA - Center for Advanced Research on Language Acquisition
Foreign Language Resource Centers - "national network of resources to promote the teaching and learning of foreign languages."
EDSITEment! Foreign Language Lesson Plans - "EDSITEment offers a treasure trove for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality material on the Internet in the subject areas of literature and language arts, foreign languages, art and culture, and history and social studies."
History and Social Studies
National Archives Teachers' Resources – the National Archives resources for educators and their students.
Teaching History – “designed to help K-12 history teachers access resources and materials to improve U.S. history education in the classroom.
C-Span Classroom – "free primary source materials for social studies teachers."
The World Factbook - "information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
West Virginia Archives & History Teachers Resource Page
West Virginia Learning Media
Adolescent Literacy – “national multimedia project offering information and resources to the parents and educators of struggling adolescent readers and writers.
Center for the Book – established "to promote books, reading, literacy and libraries, as well as the scholarly study of books." Access to teaching resources to "unlock the power of reading."
International Literacy Association– "dedicated to building on our 60-year legacy as advocates in advancing literacy and learning in classrooms around the world."
National Council of Teachers of English
Reading Rockets – "offering information and resources on how young kids learn to read, why so many struggle, and how caring adults can help."
Storyline Online - "Screen Actors Guild Foundation records well-known actors reading children’s books and makes graphically dynamic videos so that children around the world can be read to with just the click of a Storyline Online video book image."
Math, Science, and Health
American Chemical Society – “independent membership organization which represents professionals at all degree levels and in all fields of chemistry and sciences that involve chemistry.” Links to resources for educators.
Environmental Health Science Education – “provides educators, students and scientists with easy access to reliable tools, resources and classroom materials.”
EPA Learning and Teaching Center – student and teacher resources for environmental education.
Exploratorium – “museum of science art, and human perception located in San Francisco, California." The Web site provides access to "over 50,000 pages of content”, including education resources.
Learn to be Healthy Educational Materials – "web-based health science education activities with accompanying lesson plans, supplemental worksheets and paper-based activities."
Illuminations – “standards-based resources that improve the teaching and learning of mathematics for all students.”
KidsHealth in the Classroom – “free health-related lesson plans for all grades and subject areas."
Marian Koshland Science Museum Teacher Resources – "includes virtual field trips, webquests, classroom activities, and worksheets to support middle school science, high school science, and college curriculum."
National Association of Biology Teachers - links to teaching resources.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
National Science Foundation - classroom resources.
Physics Central – sponsored by the American Physical Society, this site contains information, activities and lessons for teachers of physics and their students.
Science NetLinks – “premier K-12 science education resource produced by the American Association for the Advancement of Science."
U.S. Geological Survey – “provides scientific information intended to help educate the public about natural resources, natural hazards, geospatial data, and issues that affect our quality of life.” Includes links to educational resources.
The Why Files – online science magazine that explores the “science behind the news”.
International Society for Technology in Education – “engaged in improving learning and teaching by advancing the effective use of technology in PK–12 and teacher education.”
International Technology Education Association – “professional organization for technology education teachers."
Miscellaneous Education Resources
Annenberg Learner - "Teacher resources across the curriculum."
Critical Thinking Community - "works under the auspices of the Foundation for Critical Thinking, a non-profit educational organization, to promote essential change in society and education through the cultivation of fairminded critical thinking."
CyberBee – award winning site providing access to Internet resources to educators and ideas for integrating technology across the curriculum.
CyberSmart: 21st Century Skills for Education – “fosters 21st century skills to increase student engagement and prepare students to achieve in today's digital society.”
Discovery Education – “provides engaging digital resources to schools and homes with the goal of making educators more effective, increasing student achievement, and connecting classrooms and families to a world of learning.”
EdSitement – educational resources covering all areas of the humanities from the arts to social studies.
Educational Testing Service(ETS) – information on the PRAXIS exams
Edutopia – sponsored by the George Lucas Educational Foundation; “offers practical, hands-on advice, real-world examples, lively contributions from practitioners, and invaluable tips and tools.”
International Children’s Digital Library
Library of Congress – includes resources for teachers and families.
New York Times Learning Network – “free service for students in grades 3-12, their teachers and parents.”
PBS Teachers – multidisciplinary teacher resources through the Public Broadcasting Service.
Usable Knowledge – sponsored by Harvard Graduate School of Education "connecting research and practice for leaders in education.”
Yale National Initiative – “long-term endeavor to establish exemplary Teachers Institutes in states around the country.” Contains ”thousands of curriculum units in the humanities and the sciences prepared by participating teachers.”