A | B| C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M |N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
Academic Search Complete - a multidisciplinary resource providing full text of over 8,800 journals including more than 7,700 peer-reviewed journals; PDF content dating as far back as 1887. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for nearly 13,600 journals in the collection.
Access Science - "up-to-date, easy-to-use gateway to scientific knowledge, from basic introductory material to extended article entries."
ACLS Humanities E-book - "online collection of approximately 3,700 books of high quality in the humanities."
ACS Publications - access to indexing and abstracting for ACS Publications.
AGRICOLA - (National Agricultural Library) "provides citations to agricultural literature."
Alt HealthWatch - "focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness."
American Civil War: Letters & Diaries (1861-1865) - "contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs."
America: History and Life - "definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present."
Archive of Americana - Early American Imprints (1639-1800) - "more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages; contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period."
Archives Unbound - topically-focused digital collection of historical documents on U.S. Relations with the Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1950 and Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia.
ArtStor - "nonprofit resource that provides 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences."
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials - "combines premier indexing with full text access to ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals."
Biography in Context - "600,000+ biographies; integrated reference material, periodical information and multimedia content."
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic - "provides access to more than 100 full-text journals covering such disciplines as clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinarian medicine, pre-clinical sciences and the health care system."
Business Source Elite - "offers full text for nearly 1,000 business publications and more than 10,000 substantial company profiles from MarketLine."
Chronicle of Higher Education - "the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators."
CINAHL Complete - comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health; contains indexing for more than 4,900 journals and full text for more 760 journals.
Cochrane Library Collection - "systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy; internationally recognized as the highest standard in evidence-based health care."
Consumer Health Complete - full text resource for consumer-oriented health content to support patients' information needs.
CountryWatch - provides country specific geopolitical intelligence on each of the 192 countries of the world.
CQ Researcher - social, economic, political, and environmental issues.
Digital Library of Appalachia - online access to archival and historical materials related to the culture of the southern and central Appalachian region. The contents of the DLA are drawn from special collections of Appalachian College Association member libraries, including Wheeling Jesuit University.
Early Encounters in North America - Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment - "contains over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters."
ebrary Health Sciences Ebooks - search here for access to Ebooks related mainly to Nursing, but also applicable to other Health Science disciplines.
EBSCOhost Combined Database Search - select any or all of the EBSCOhost resources to search at one time.
EBSCO Ebooks - search here for access to Ebooks on a variety of disciplines.
Education Index Retrospective - "provides a vast record of important education literature; contains "accurate, detailed indexing for more than 800 periodicals, many of them peer-reviewed."
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences - "contains over 5,000 specially commissioned, peer-reviewed and citable articles in the life sciences."
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center) - "provides access to educational literature and resources"; "contains 1.4 million records" and links to over 330,000 full-text documents.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 - "contains more than 32,000 records and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples." A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
Films on Demand - access to streaming videos from Films Media Group. Content areas: Humanities & Social Sciences, Science, Business & Economics, and Health.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia - resource providing over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Gender Studies Database - contains coverage on issues related to both genders and sexual diversity.
GreenFILE - collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles covering aspects of the human impact to the environment.
Greenwood Press - collection of over 3,000 academic ebooks in the liberal arts and sciences accessible via the library's online catalog.
Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia – online encyclopedia. Access via West Virginia Info Depot. Contact the library for username/password.
Health Source: Consumer Edition - "access to over 80 full text consumer health magazines; nearly 130 full text health reference books."
Health Source Nursing Academic Edition - collection of articles from over 550 full text journals focusing on a variety of medical disciplines.
Historical Abstracts - reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Hoover's - data on over 70 million companies and 85 million people; includes company profiles, lists of competitors, key people, competitive landscapes, comparison data, detailed annual financials, detailed quarterly financials, historical financials, and market data.
Issues and Controversies - resource focuses on more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education and popular culture.
Issues and Controversies in American History
JSTOR - multidisciplinary resource providing access to full text journal articles in the areas of Arts & Sciences, Business, Ecology & Botany, Health & General Science, Language & Literature.
Learning Express Library - Practice tests for the GMAT, GRE, LSAT, Praxis, MCAT and more. Career help with job search, resumes, and interviewing. Visit West Virginia Info Depot for access. In the library, click on "Register" under New Users to create an account. Off campus, contact the library for a username/password.
Lexis-Nexis Academic - "quick, easy access to more than 10,000 of the most credible business, legal and news sources available in a single location."
LibraryMusicSource.com - collection of over 300,000 sheets of music from over 35,000 works of Western Classical music; includes composers such as: Chopin, Schubert, Bach and Beethoven.
LISTA - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts - indexes over 500 jurnals in the areas of librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
Literature Resource Center - "full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines; critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more."
Masterfile Premier - "contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide range of subject areas."
Medline - indexing to over 4,800 medical journals containing authoritative information in the disciplines of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.
Mental Measurements Yearbook - MMYB - "provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments"; covers such "diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership."
MLA International Bibliography - index of journal articles, books and dissertations; dates back to 1963; covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts.
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia (Archives Unbound) - "diaries, journals and narratives; spans three and a half centuries, providing information on the social, political, economic, scientific, religious and agricultural characteristics of the region."
National Criminal Justice Abstracts Database - contains summaries of the more than 200,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection.
New York Times (Current) - full text covering the most recent five years through the present.
New York Times (Historical) - full text access beginning in 1851.
Newspaper Source - "full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers; selective full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers." Plus, access to some full text television and radio news transcripts.
North American Women's Letters & Diaries (Colonial to 1950) - 150,000 full text pages of diaries and letters detailing the experiences of 1,325 women.
Nursing Reference Center - evidence based medicine and nursing best practices.
Oxford Art Online - access to Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art.
Oxford English Dictionary - guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Oxford Music Online - access to Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music, and Oxford Companion to Music.
Peace Research Abstracts - over 284,000 bibliographic records dating back to 1964 on such topics as conflict resolution, international affairs, and peace psychology.
Persee - (Articles are in French) the goal of the Persée project is to widely disseminate the scientific output of French language specialists in the humanities on the internet. Considered part of France’s heritage, the collections are at the disposal of all, without charge, in an optic of free and non exclusive access and dissemination.
Philosopher's Index - a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy.
Points of View Reference Center - full text database providing a series of essays that present multiple sides of an issue. Over 200 topics, each with an overview, point, and counterpoint.
Polling the Nations - contains 500,000 questions from surveys conducted in the United States and 100 other countries around the world from 1986 to the present.