Libguides: Homepage: MLA Style Guide

MLA Style is the system for documenting sources in academic writing developed by the Modern Language Association. MLA style is used primarily in the humanities in English, literature, language, and arts. The guidelines are published in the MLA Handbook, the latest edition -- the 8th -- was published in April 2016 and uses one universal citation format for all types of sources regardless of publication format.

NOTE: Forthcoming in April 2021 is the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook that works as both a textbook and a reference guide.

Works Cited: A Quick Guide

Works Cited Examples
Each entry in the list of works cited is composed of facts common to most works—the MLA core elements. They are assembled in a specific order.

MLA Citation Template

ONLINE TEMPLATE
Use the either the PDF or online template above to build a works-cited-list entry, enter the elements present in your source into one of the templates. You must include any necessary punctuation, capitalization, and italics.

The template is a tool for teaching and learning MLA style, not a citation generator. To verify that your entry is correct, consult the MLA Handbook.

Activities

Practice In-text Citations
Correct flawed examples of in-text citations to hone your skills.
Answer Key
...and then check your efforts here.

Activities

Works-Cited Rubric
Gain familiarity with the details of a works-cited list through peer review or apply the rubric to your own work to catch and correct errors.

MyBib

You can cite websites, books, journals, and over 30 other sources. Available as a Chrome extension.

EasyBib

A tool to create a bibliography in MLA8 style.

MLA Handbook

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language Association of America
ISBN: 9781603292627
Publication Date: 2016-04-01

A Step-by-Step Guide for MLA Style Student Papers

Reading & Writing with Sources

Additional Resources

MLA Overview & Workshop
These OWL resources will help you learn how to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) citation and format style. This section contains resources on in-text citations and Works Cited pages, as well as MLA sample papers, slide presentations, and much more.

Homepage: MLA Style Guide

Works Cited: A Quick Guide

MLA Citation Template

Activities

Activities

MyBib

EasyBib

MLA Handbook

A Step-by-Step Guide for MLA Style Student Papers

Reading & Writing with Sources

Additional Resources

Questions?