Libguides: Nursing: Drug Information and Toxicology

Drug Information Resources

DAILYMED This link opens in a new window
Searchable drug information by name NDC code, drug class or Set ID. Includes over 76,742 drug listings submitted to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).

Drugs@FDA
Includes most of the drug products approved since 1939. The majority of patient information, labels, approval letters, reviews, and other information are available for drug products approved since 1998.
MedlinePlus Drug Information
Extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs.

Toxicology Resources

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
ATSDR is directed by congressional mandate to perform specific functions concerning the effect on public health of hazardous substances in the environment.
more...less...
These functions include public health assessments of waste sites, health consultations concerning specific hazardous substances, health surveillance and registries, response to emergency releases of hazardous substances, applied research in support of public health assessments, information development and dissemination, and education and training concerning hazardous substances.
Household Products Database
This database links over 16,000 consumer brands to health effects from Safety Data Sheets (formerly Material Safety Data Sheets), provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients.
TOXLearn
Online learning tool providing an introduction to toxicology fundamentals.
Tox Town
Tox Town uses color, graphics, sounds and animation to add interest to learning about connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health. Tox Town's target audience is students above elementary-school level, educators, and the general public. It is a companion to the extensive information in the TOXNET collection of databases that are typically used by toxicologists and health professionals.
ToxTutor
ToxTutor is a self-paced tutorial covering key principles of toxicology for users of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) chemical and toxicology databases.