Beginning: About the Library

Bishop Hodges Library provides ample space for group learning and quiet study. The library’s extensive collection of print, multimedia, and electronic resources serves our campus community both on campus and via a distance. The print book collection contains over 130,000 volumes. In addition, the library provides access to scholarly electronic resources which contain indexes, abstracts, or full-text to newspapers, research journals and other publications. The library has an extensive collection of eBooks and access to JSTOR eBooks, many of which are downloadable. The library’s multimedia collection provides access to physical DVDs and streaming visual items. The library maintains a collection of print serials, which is supplemented by a collection of microforms that provide access to archived periodicals. The library also has a Curriculum Resource Center with items Education majors can use to supplement resources for their classroom teaching experiences. The library has agreements with national and regional library consortia to provide access to materials unavailable at Bishop Hodges Library. Librarians and library assistants are available to provide students with assistance on the use of information resources. Assistance is available in person, phone, or email. The library provides desktop and laptop computers for student use in the library. In addition, wireless access is available throughout the library, as are copy machines, microform readers/printers, DVD/VCR player, a hole punch, staplers, and paper cutters. The library is available to meet the academic research needs of Wheeling University students. The library is open for an average of 85 hours per week during the Fall/Spring semesters with extended hours during finals weeks. However, the library’s electronic resources are available 24/7 anywhere one has access to a computer. For more information on the library visit our website at /https://wheeling.edu/

Wheeling University is about leadership, service, and an education that will last a lifetime.

Mission

Life | The Catholic traditions of educational excellence and service to others guide all of the programs at Wheeling University. By integrating learning, research and economic development with classical knowledge and Christian revelation, the University seeks to foster competence, creativity and innovation throughout and beyond the campus community. Graduates of the University enter the world of work with socially responsible goals, a life long appetite for learning and the desire to make our universe a better place.

Leadership | To model the Catholic concern for regional and global neighbors, the University welcomes people of all creeds, races and nationalities to share in the intelligent pursuit of excellence. The University promotes close student-faculty contacts and encourages students to develop their full potential for leadership. Through a grounding in the liberal arts and, above all, example of Jesus Christ, the University endeavors to produce intelligent, moral leaders who will champion the Catholic values of faith, peace and justice. Wheeling University envisions a dynamic leadership role for the University in the lives of its students and in the world at large.

Service With and Among Others | In its faculty and students, its research and outreach, the University is national and international. Yet as the only Catholic institution of higher learning in West Virginia, Wheeling University also values its distinctive mission to the immediate area, educating local men and women and returning them to enrich their own communities. Wheeling University firmly believes its graduates will enter the professional world prepared to use their God-given talents not solely for personal fulfillment but as men and women in service to others.