Libguides: Beginning: Guides and Help

Citing

The Styles

There are a few main styles for citing sources, so check with your instructor about which style to use for your research.

APA, American Psychological Association, is used for scientific and technical research. Instructors in behavioral science and hard science courses may require you to use APA style for your references or bibliography page.

MLA, Modern Language Association, is used for research on general topics and literary criticism. Most instructors in English and Developmental Studies classes will require you to use MLA style.

A few instructors prefer Chicago Manual of Style. This style is used primarily in history and other social science research.

Research Help

Copyright

Copyright Questions and Answers for Information Professionals by Laura N. Gasaway (Editor)
ISBN: 1612492533
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
Copyright Law by Paul Torremans (Editor)
ISBN: 1848440219
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by Kenneth D. Crews; Dwayne K. Buttler (Contribution by); Megan M. Mulford (Contribution by); Patrick O. Okorodudu (Contribution by)
ISBN: 083890906X
Publication Date: 2006-01-01

Fake News??

Fake News libguide by Cornell University
Fake news is not news you disagree with.

"Fake news" is "fabricated information that mimics news media content in form but not in organizational process or intent. Fake-news outlets, in turn, lack the news media's editorial norms and processes for ensuring the accuracy and credibility of information. Fake news overlaps with other information disorders, such as misinformation (false or misleading information) and disinformation (false information that is purposely spread to deceive people)." [David M. J. Lazer, et al., "The Science of Fake News," Science 09 Mar 2018: Vol. 359, Issue 6380, pp. 1094-1096.].

Guides

Athletic

Marketing Guide

Physical Therapy

FAQs

Guides/Resources

Avoiding Plagiarism and Self-Plagiarism Guide
Avoid it like the plague! There are two common types of plagiarism:
(a) improper use of someone else’s words
(b) improper use of someone else’s ideas
Both forms of plagiarism involve using someone else’s words or ideas without
appropriately acknowledging the author or source.

Guide to Creating a List of References
The reference list contains all the works you cited in the text of your paper.

Discussion Phrases Guide
Papers usually end with a concluding section, often called the “Discussion.” The Discussion is your opportunity to evaluate and interpret the results of your study or paper, draw inferences and conclusions from it, and communicate its contributions to science and/or society. Use the present tense when writing the Discussion section.

Heading Levels Template
APA Style headings have five possible levels. Use this student paper template to follow heading formats.

In-text Citation Checklist
Use this checklist for each sentence in your paper that relies on another source. Remember to cite all ideas, findings, results, or other information that is not your own and is not common knowledge. It may be helpful to highlight or annotate your paper to remind yourself of what information comes from another source and what is your contribution.

Checklist for Student Papers
Use this checklist while writing your paper to make sure it is consistent with seventh edition APA Style. This checklist corresponds to the writing and formatting guidelines described in full in the Concise Guide to APA Style (7th ed.), but is useful without the text as well.

Student Paper Setup Guide
This guide will help you set up an APA Style student paper. The basic setup directions apply to the entire paper.

Annotated diagrams illustrate how to set up the major sections of a student paper: the title page or cover page, the text, tables and figures, and the reference list.

Title Page Guide
These guidelines should be used to create title pages for student papers. The title page needs to provide information about the paper’s topic and authors and the course to which it is being submitted.

NOTE: If instructors or institutions provide different guidance, students should abide by those directions.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines. Released in beta in November 2004, the Google Scholar index includes most peer-reviewed online academic journals and books, conference papers, theses and dissertations, preprints, abstracts, technical reports, and other scholarly literature, including court opinions and patents.^[1] While Google does not publish the size of Google Scholar's database, scientometric researchers estimated it to contain roughly 389 million documents including articles, citations, and patents making it the world's largest academic search engine in January 2018.^[2] Previously, the size was estimated at 160 million documents as of May 2014.^[3] An earlier statistical estimate published in PLOS ONE using a Mark and recapture method estimated approximately 80–90% coverage of all articles published in English with an estimate of 100 million.^[4] This estimate also determined how many documents were freely available on the internet.

Accessing the library

Questions? Ask Us!!

Call us

304-243-2226

Email us

library@wheeling.edu

tjeter@wheeling.edu

Search our FAQ

Jose Oltra - Library Operations Manager

Keala McCurry - Library Supervisor

Ahkeem Mitchell

Lawrence Weru

Jermawn Ford

Anthony Abram

Aluel Tong

Joseph Holmes

Calvin Blunt

Jabar Sellers

Alona Jones

Rodney James

Searching JSTOR

EBSCO Help

Open Access

What is Open Access?

Open access (OA) refers to freely available, digital, online information. Open access scholarly literature is free of charge and often carries less restrictive copyright and licensing barriers than traditionally published works, for both the users and the authors. Many OA journals are peer-reviewed and have high publishing standards. For more information, see Peter Suber's overview of Open Access. (from the Cornell University libguide)

Directory of Open Access Journals